C. S. Lewis Francis Schaeffer

Lessons for a New Century from the Most Influential Apologists of Our Time

PRINT-ON-DEMAND

by Scott R. Burson and Jerry L. Walls

C. S. Lewis Francis Schaeffer
paperback
  • Length: 308 pages
  • Published: March 17, 1998
  •  Print on Demand
  • ISBN: 978-0-8308-1935-5
  • Item Code: 1935
  • Case Quantity: 32
Print on Demand

In some ways, they could not be more different: the pipe-smoking, Anglican Oxford don and the blue-collar scion of conservative Presbyterianism. But C. S. Lewis and Francis Schaeffer, each in his unique way, fashioned Christian apologetics that influenced millions in their lifetimes. And the work of each continues to be read and studied today.

In this book Scott Burson and Jerry Walls compare and contrast for the first time the thought of Lewis and Schaeffer. With great respect for the legacy of each man, but with critical insight as well, they suggest strengths and weaknesses of their apologetics. All the while they consider what Lewis and Schaeffer still have to offer in light of postmodernism and other cultural currents that, since their deaths, have changed the apologetic landscape.

This incisive book stands as both an excellent introduction to the work of these two important figures and a fresh proposal for apologetics at the dawn of a new century.

"Apologetics can create a climate for faith. Standing on the shoulders of giants like these, we can learn to tell the Story ever more beautifully and effectively."

Clark H. Pinnock

"Burson and Walls offer students of Lewis and Schaeffer a rare treat: fresh insights into the commonalities and dissonances between these influential thinkers, climaxed by a compelling, holistic agenda for apologetics in the next millennium."

Bruce L. Edwards, author of A Rhetoric of Reading: C. S. Lewis's Defense of Western Literacy

"This is a first-rate study of Schaeffer and Lewis. It is also a splendid exploration of the issues they sought to identify and explore. Fans of Schaeffer and Lewis will be challenged to enrich what they have already found; newcomers will be drawn into a conversation of striking clarity and depth."

William J. Abraham, Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University
More

CONTENTS

Acknowledgements
When Worlds Collide: Paleo-orthodoxy in a Postmodern Age
1. The Biographical Foundation: The Path to Apologetic Prominence
2. The Nature of Salvation: Envisioning the Highway to Heaven
3. God's Sovereignty and Human Significance: Predestination, Divine Election and the Power to Choose Freely
4. Evaluating the Mystery Maneuver: The Necessity of "True" Truth
5. Biblical Authority and Divine Inspiration: The Great Evangelical Divide
6. Strategic Apologetics: Delivering the Faith
7. Offensive Apologetics: Advancing the Faith
8. Defensive Apologetics: Guarding the Faith
9. Back to Libertarian Freedom and Dignity: Evaluating Apologetic Arguments
10. 21 Lessons for the 21st Century: Holism, Holiness and the Hope of Heaven

Notes

Index

More

Scott R. Burson (PhD, Brunel University) is associate professor of philosophical theology at Indiana Wesleyan University. He is the author of Brian McLaren in Focus: A New Kind of Apologetics and the coauthor of Holistic Apologetics and C.S. Lewis and Francis Schaeffer, which has been translated into Korean, Indonesian, and Portuguese. He previously served as director of communications at Asbury Theological Seminary in Wilmore, Kentucky.

Recommendations For You

Purchased With