Feathers of Hope Study Guide, By Sharon Garlough Brown alt

Feathers of Hope Study Guide

by Sharon Garlough Brown

Feathers of Hope Study Guide
  • Length: 80 pages
  • Published: April 19, 2022
  • Imprint: IVP Formatio
  • Item Code: A0065
  • ISBN: 9781514000656

*affiliate partner

Sharon Garlough Brown's novel Feathers of Hope follows Wren Crawford and her great-aunt, Katherine Rhodes, companions in sorrow and hope. As Katherine prepares to retire as the director of the New Hope Retreat Center, she faces personal and professional challenges while Wren takes the next step in her journey with depression by offering compassionate care to the residents of the nursing home where she now works.

This eight-week study guide offers an opportunity to reflect on how the experiences of the characters in the novel resonate with your own experience. Daily Scripture readings and reflection questions are accompanied by an invitation to the practice of visio divina (meditating on art) through weekly prompts related to works by Vincent van Gogh. With simple spiritual practices, this guide provides a space for individuals and groups to process Katherine's retreat teaching as well as the themes of Feathers of Hope.

Read an Excerpt


Week One: Chapters One Through Four
Week One Group Discussion
Week Two: Chapters Five Through Twelve
Week Two Group Discussion
Week Three: Chapters Thirteen Through Fifteen
Week Three Group Discussion
Week Four: Chapters Sixteen Through Twenty
Week Four Group Discussion
Week Five: Chapters Twenty-One Through Twenty-Seven
Week Five Group Discussion
Week Six: Chapters Twenty-Eight Through Thirty
Week Six Group Discussion
Week Seven: Chapters Thirty Through Thirty-Three
Week Seven Group Discussion
Week Eight: Chapters Thirty-Three Through Thirty-Six
Week Eight Group Discussion


You May Also Like

Sharon Garlough Brown

Sharon Garlough Brown is a spiritual director, speaker, and cofounder of Abiding Way Ministries, providing spiritual formation retreats and resources. She is the author of the bestselling Sensible Shoes Series, which includes spiritual fiction novels Sensible Shoes, Two Steps Forward, Barefoot, An Extra Mile, and their study guides.